We have 99 guests and no members online

search

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Best possible sound quality

Best possible sound quality 3 years 4 months ago #516

Hello,
I'm new to GinSing/Babblebot/SoundGin. I have experimented a bit with SpeakJet, but, in short words, the sound quality of synthesized sounds is by far not acceptable (speech is ok). I want to relax when I hear the sounds.

My project is an experiment mixing synthesized sound: 2 components of (preferably triangle) sound in the range of 250 Hz to 1 kHz with different volumes, and sometimes speech messages. I do not use Arduino but design an own PC-board and program the controller in plain old simple C.
As only about 20 different words plus digits are to be distinguished, synthesized speech will be ok.

Most of my questions are answered by surfing after registration, one remains:
Please give me some hints how to get best possible sound quality out of BabbleBot/GinSing under the following restrictions:
- Space on the board is very (VERY) restricted,
- I have only one supply voltage of 5 or 6 Volt, (can of course be regulated down)
- "normally" I use an earphone compareable to those used with cell phones, usage of a loudspeaker would also allow an extra amplifier.
- I'm by far NOT familiar with analog audio electronics.
Experiments with SpeakJet and an LM386-based amplifier were frustrating: The amplifier generates a lot of noise by itself, the double RC filters yielded speech unuseable or (with smaller Cs) had no effect.
I hope, the higher sampling frequency of GinSing will allow to produce both: understandeable speech and relaxing sounds.
The sound quality in the file iamginsing.mp3 between seconds 16..26 is impressive and would make my wishes become true - has any special filter/amplifier been used to produce this file?

Is BabbleBot/GinSing available in an SOC package? That would help a lot.

Thank you for your efforts so far, sincerely yours
Helmut