We have 94 guests and no members online

search

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Latency?

Latency? 6 years 2 months ago #162

Hi,
I'm planning to develop a live instrument based on the Ginsing voice library. I'm just testing out a few ideas at the moment and I'm an arduino newbie. On the other hand I'm an experienced developer so the code side shouldn't be too much trouble. At the moment I'm looking at input methods. I've written a bit of test code to speak a phrase at the push of a button. This uses a pin read by digitalRead to start and stop the speech. However, there's a long delay before hearing the audio after I push the button . What's causing this delay? The audio buffer?
Can it be reduced? Any tips for getting a snappier response?

Hope you can help, cheers.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Latency? 6 years 2 months ago #163

I would not expect there to be an appreciable delay between the function call on the Arduino to the audio output. The serial interface between the Arduino and the Babblebot runs at 9600 baud, or approximately 960 bytes per second. This suggests that the first byte sent should arrive at the chip in about 1 millisecond. Most of the commands are 4 bytes or less, but depending on how long the phrase is you may see the buffer process them in groups of 4 bytes at a time.